Trouble installing SI 2015

General questions and troubleshooting SOFTIMAGE©
User avatar
minilogoguy18
Posts: 87
Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 19:34

Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by minilogoguy18 » 27 Mar 2018, 03:56

I've been playing around with this for a good bit, fixed some problems by altering the setup.ini file to no longer try and install VCREDIST and directx versions that I already have but now seem to have a registry fault. Despite windows showing that I have full control over HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software I get an installation error saying that the installer cannot write to that directory. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aankbj5qp5ivw ... .html?dl=0

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1268
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by Rork » 27 Mar 2018, 13:21

The installer will check the versions, and just continues if the correct files already exist afaik. Fiddling with the setup.ini isn't a proper way of fixing stuff imho.

ANY errors regarding things like HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software are a tell-tale something is off with your Windows installation.
Unless you haven't played around with the registry editor and/or cleaners, things went wrong somewhere somehow.

I never had any issues with installing Softimage versions, including 2015. They all went without a glitch.
Start looking at your Windows install first is my advice.
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

User avatar
minilogoguy18
Posts: 87
Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 19:34

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by minilogoguy18 » 27 Mar 2018, 13:35

Well according to a lot of searching the C++ redist 2012 errors seem pretty common, people either remove the version from their PC prior to install or alter the setup.ini file as I have to get around it, even autodesk support on their own forums recommended this to people.

Reinstalling windows is something that isn't really an option on a PC with an OEM license without buying a stand alone license to reinstall windows.

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1268
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by Rork » 27 Mar 2018, 14:40

You forgot to mention the C++ redist 2012 errors in your first post...... Unless you give the error codes, and links to stuff you did try (e.g. AD forums) we cannot help.

Again, ANY errors regarding things like HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software are a tell-tale something is off with your Windows installation.

And there are tools to retrieve your Windows license key, even for OEM versions. Or have a backup disks/restore functionality available. Almost all of them have a hidden partition with restore option, or the possibility to create restore disks.
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

luceric
Posts: 1196
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by luceric » 27 Mar 2018, 15:27

As far as I'm aware, you're always able to re-install windows. PCs normally do not ship with intall disk, but has a software to make your recovery disk/usb key. Which version of windows is this?
Try running installer as administrator, btw.
The advice on the web about MSVC Runtime issues is almost always bullshit written by people who don't know what they're doing. Some of them recommend downloading some dlls and copying them to the windows directory, which will forever mess up you installations.

User avatar
minilogoguy18
Posts: 87
Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 19:34

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by minilogoguy18 » 03 Apr 2018, 02:40

OK, got the permissions straightened out without reinstalling windows. Ran the installer without commenting out the C++ 2012 in the setup.ini but instead uninstalled those from my computer and it installed successfully. Seems that commenting them out breaks the installation and having them installed for some reason messes up the install because the installer tries to install them on top of the existing installation.

Took some googling to figure this out, if you have errors on the C++ 2012 Redist, uninstall the x86 and x64 version of C++ 2012 and run the installer again.

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1268
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by Rork » 03 Apr 2018, 09:39

So... In the end something was wrong with your Windows installation......
Be sure to check any updates on those Redist installs, or other things might break.

But good to see you're finally up and running with Soft. ;)
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

User avatar
minilogoguy18
Posts: 87
Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 19:34

Re: Trouble installing SI 2015

Post by minilogoguy18 » 03 Apr 2018, 23:29

Yeah, the 2012 redist could have been the problem before since I had SI 2015 installed using a student license that is still active but the dotXSI 3.x export was having problems so I was trying to reinstall which could have been the reason for the exporter having problems.