pzLoopSelection?

Discussions concerning plugins for SOFTIMAGE©
Post Reply
User avatar
junki
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:01
Contact:

pzLoopSelection?

Post by junki » 16 Sep 2013, 04:03

Hello,

Anybody knows old softimage script called "pzLoopSelection" ?
This tool is for selecting components with every Nth step.

I'm sure I was using this tool heavily 5 or 6 years ago, but I can not find the script file on my drive, nor on internet.

Do you know where this tool is now?


Thanks

User avatar
AceMastermind
Posts: 160
Joined: 15 Jun 2009, 00:57
Contact:

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by AceMastermind » 16 Sep 2013, 09:15

I can't find that script, but jj_loopstep or RCTools should be able to do that also.

http://www.exch.demon.co.uk/jj_loopstep.htm
http://rray.de/xsi/rctools/

User avatar
junki
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:01
Contact:

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by junki » 16 Sep 2013, 14:41

Thanks, Manny.

Yes, I know those tools are capable of that.
jj_loopstep is okay but lacks gui.
RCTools seems to be the way to go.


I don't know why I can not find "pzLoopSelection" now.
Maybe wrong name.... but I still have my old XSI screenshot image and I can see a button named "pzLoopSelection" on my custom toolbar.
pz must be somebody's initial.
Or maybe it was just a small script code posted on old XSI Base thread or something...


Thank you very much anyway.

User avatar
AceMastermind
Posts: 160
Joined: 15 Jun 2009, 00:57
Contact:

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by AceMastermind » 16 Sep 2013, 17:44

Manny is '3DMastermind', but I understand how some folks make this mistake. :)
jj_loopstep is opensource python, so if you really like using it someone could probably code a nice GUI for it.

User avatar
junki
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:01
Contact:

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by junki » 17 Sep 2013, 05:56

Ahhh, AceMastermind, sorry about that. My bad.



Although I guess building a gui for jj_loopstep by myself is not that big hustle, I feel a bit better if I could make it from scratch.

Very alpha version. (JScript)

Code: Select all

Step = 2;
var SelStr = Selection.GetAsText();
SelStr = SelStr.replace( /\]/, "" );
var aSel = SelStr.split( "[" );
Body = aSel[0];

var aIndexStr = aSel[1].split( "," );

Index = "";
for ( var i=0; i<aIndexStr.length; i+=Step )
{
	Index += aIndexStr[i] + ",";
}
Index = Index.slice( 0, Index.length -1 );
Index = "[" + Index + "]";
SelectingStr = Body + Index;

SelectGeometryComponents( SelectingStr );
Select components first and run. It "leaves" selected components with every Nth step.

pezetko
Posts: 40
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 01:58

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by pezetko » 14 Oct 2013, 20:59

Sorry for late reply, since there is internet restriction in facility I'm working now (thanks to Disney) I don't lurk to this forum that often.

I found that one on my backup hardware at home. I didn't expected that anybody use that, that's nice. It's script, not plugin but I can wrap it into plugin if you find it usefull.
If you have any question feel free to ask, I would like to help if I can.

There is gif animation that show behaviour and script in python. Enjoy
LoopSelection.gif
Attachments
pz_Loop_selection.zip
(105.28 KiB) Downloaded 217 times

Falam

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by Falam » 14 Oct 2013, 22:06

I like the way this script works :)

User avatar
junki
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:01
Contact:

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by junki » 15 Oct 2013, 03:02

Thank you very much, pezetko!!
pezetko wrote:It's script, not plugin but I can wrap it into plugin if you find it usefull.
If you have any question feel free to ask, I would like to help if I can.
Yeah, although I can do it by myself, that would be great to see the original writer's plugin version.

pezetko
Posts: 40
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 01:58

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by pezetko » 15 Oct 2013, 08:20

You are welcome.
I packed it as self instaled command, so it can be assigned to hotkey. Just put it in User\Application\Plugins\

Btw: it works for other type of selection too. e.g. on points, edges, even on whole objects.
Attachments
pz_LoopSelectionPlugin.zip
(1.41 KiB) Downloaded 218 times

User avatar
junki
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:01
Contact:

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by junki » 15 Oct 2013, 08:54

super thanks, pezetko.

Falam

Re: pzLoopSelection?

Post by Falam » 21 Oct 2013, 04:09

This is the way I thought RC Tools would be upgraded to and work like, never happened :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests