SI2011 + VCExpress 2008 Gotcha (???)

Discussions concerning programming of SOFTIMAGE©
Post Reply
User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 5107
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

SI2011 + VCExpress 2008 Gotcha (???)

Post by Hirazi Blue » 20 Apr 2010, 17:15

As you probably haven't even noticed, the Autodesk Softimage installer installs the software by default under "Program Files\Softimage 2011". The space between "Softimage" and "2011" is one of the new features of SI2011. :D
For practical programming purposes with VC Express 2008 there seems to be a GOTCHA however...
When VC Express resolves a Softimage related environment variable (for instance XSISDK_ROOT)
IT DOESN'T ACCEPT THE SPACE BETWEEN "Softimage" and "2011"

At least as far as I can tell... :-ss
There obviously must be a way to fix this is in VC Express, but I simply reinstalled to "Program Files\Softimage_2011". Now all is well... :ymparty:

If I'm making some terrible error of judgement here, please let me know... %-(
Stay safe, sane & healthy!

User avatar
TwinSnakes007
Posts: 316
Joined: 06 Jun 2011, 16:00

Re: SI2011 + VCExpress 2008 Gotcha (???)

Post by TwinSnakes007 » 03 Jul 2012, 15:26

Better late than never....

When setting up the Dev Environment batch file per the instructions in the XSI SDK help, dont enclose the XSISDK_ROOT path in quotes, that will let the OS resolve the path properly.

So the help docs says to do this

Code: Select all

@echo off

call "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013 SP1\Application\bin\Setenv.bat"
call "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat" x86

set PATH
set XSISDK_ROOT="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013 SP1\XSISDK"

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\IDE\VCExpress.exe" /useenv

echo on
..so you want to remove the "" quotes around the XSISDK_ROOT path, so your batch file looks like this

Code: Select all

@echo off

call "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013 SP1\Application\bin\Setenv.bat"
call "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat" x86

set PATH
set XSISDK_ROOT=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013 SP1\XSISDK

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\IDE\VCExpress.exe" /useenv

echo on
...that way when the MSVC project is loaded, the import sub directories can be appended to the XSISDK_ROOT appropriately.

I've had to turn back to C++ because some of the methods I need dont have Python bindings yet.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 5107
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: SI2011 + VCExpress 2008 Gotcha (???)

Post by Hirazi Blue » 03 Jul 2012, 16:15

That's a very useful suggestion. Thanks! :-bd
Stay safe, sane & healthy!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests