SiScatter

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

SiScatter 2.0Author: Julien Carmagnac
A scattering plugin from Julien Carmagnac, author of »Instance On Curve«. SiScatter offers a high level of control over the scatter placement:

This scatter tool distributes particles based on the »emTool _ Equal Distribution on Surface« Compound from Eric Mootz (thank you Eric !). I tweak this compound to work together with »Delete Particles Near to Boundaries Edges«, »remove closest geometry« and »remove inside filter« compounds.

This tool build an ICE Tree and create a custom property under the point cloud object to tweak all ICE parameters. So you can edit entirely your scattering without open your ICE Tree. List of avalaible modifiers: color by gradient color by shape id color by texture map filter by boundary edge filter by closest geo filter by fractal filter by random
[..]

Continue reading in the si-community thread. Video demo here.

local backup: siScatter.xsiaddon

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: SiScatter

Post by julca » 10 Mar 2014, 12:02

Thanks all for your comment !
As you say, with FE I can still work with Softimage !
Does it work with Softi 2.12 Sp1, because I get an error..
I use the command "GetICECompoundProperties" which as been added from 2012 SAP (and does not exist on 2012 sp1).
But you can build manualy your ICE Tree (very easy) like the picture below :
iceTreeSiScatter.jpg
I use another command from 2012 SAP ("EditICECompoundProperties") in a Compound PPG Logic :
So for versions prior to 2012 SAP, you just need to edit the PPG code from the "siScatter _ Add Shape" Compound :
Right click on this compound -> "Compound Properties" -> click on button "PPG Logic..." -> and now copy paste the code from this text :
siScatter__Add_Shape_PPGLogic.zip
(617 Bytes) Downloaded 271 times
Just a note for versions from 2012 SAP :
You can also build your ICE Tree manualy and just add the filters you need.
After that, you can generate the custom property which show the only necessary parameters : ICE -> Create -> siScatter -> Edit/Regenerate Property.
Or the inverse, remove the filters/modifiers compound in the ICE Tree ("yellow" node) that you don't need and the custom property will be automatically updated.

User avatar
mc_axe
Posts: 415
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 18:44

Re: SiScatter

Post by mc_axe » 11 Mar 2014, 04:05

Hello Julca i installed on si 2013 64bit to get my hands on this wonderfull tool, and on create i got

Code: Select all

ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 84, in siScatter_equalize_Execute
#     siScatter.generic.createSiScatter(str("equalize"))
#   File "C:\Users\Autodesk\Softimage_2013\Addons\siScatter\Application\Plugins\..\..\Data\Scripts\siScatter\generic.py", line 8, in createSiScatter
#     from siutils import sisel   # Selection
# ImportError: cannot import name sisel
#  - [line 83 in C:\Users\Autodesk\Softimage_2013\Addons\siScatter\Application\Plugins\siScatter.py]
Application.siScatter_equalize()
Has anything to do with 64 bits?

line 8 says something about 32 bits just saying :p not a programmer

Awesome again, i find this more usefull than crowd fx

funky
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Jun 2009, 09:47

Re: SiScatter

Post by funky » 11 Mar 2014, 07:26

Hi,
I'm wondering about 64bits too because i get same error on Softi 2013..

Thank you.
Naim.

leo3d
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 May 2013, 15:58

Re: SiScatter

Post by leo3d » 11 Mar 2014, 09:57

Super Juju

Je crois que je vais l'utiliser souvent.
Une tuerie

J'espère qu'il marchera sur la 2015 car il se peux que je m'en serve un petit moment encore


A très vite

leo

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: SiScatter

Post by julca » 11 Mar 2014, 10:14

@mc_axe, @funky, thanks for your feedback, I have updated version for working with softimage 2013 and make a little ajustment on display values.
See my first post for details and new download.


French side ;)
Meci léo ! Je suis content que ça te plaise !
Tiens moi au courant pour la 2015.
A plus !

funky75
Posts: 46
Joined: 08 Oct 2012, 11:03

Re: SiScatter

Post by funky75 » 11 Mar 2014, 16:18

Parfait Julca!!!!
Merci pour ton excellent taf ;)

Naim.

User avatar
mc_axe
Posts: 415
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 18:44

Re: SiScatter

Post by mc_axe » 11 Mar 2014, 17:17

Hey Julca that was very fast fix, it works fine on SI 2013!

Test :

Image



Image

eistan
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 Oct 2012, 06:19
Skype: kovblood

Re: SiScatter

Post by eistan » 14 Mar 2014, 07:03

hi, i have this one =( on Si 2013 64bit
' ERROR : 21000-EDIT-AddICECompoundNode - Traceback (most recent call last):
' File "<Script Block 2>", line 84, in siScatter_equalize_Execute
' siScatter.generic.createSiScatter(str("equalize"))
' File "C:\Users\Eistan\Autodesk\Softimage_2013\Addons\siScatter\Application\Plugins\..\..\Data\Scripts\siScatter\generic.py", line 40, in createSiScatter
' myIceNode = xsi.AddICECompoundNode(scatterCompoundName, str(myICERoot.FullName))
' File "<COMObject <unknown>>", line 2, in AddICECompoundNode
' COM Error: Unspecified failure - [line 83 in C:\Users\Eistan\Autodesk\Softimage_2013\Addons\siScatter\Application\Plugins\siScatter.py]
siScatter_equalize
UPD: sorry, its ok! just restart XSI after instal addon =)

User avatar
FXDude
Posts: 1129
Joined: 19 Jun 2012, 21:59

Re: SiScatter

Post by FXDude » 14 Mar 2014, 08:18

@McAxe ; Lol! Also very cool :)

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: SiScatter

Post by julca » 14 Mar 2014, 10:17

@McAxe,
Fun test \:D/ !

User avatar
cheeseburger
Posts: 108
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 10:56

Re: SiScatter

Post by cheeseburger » 19 Mar 2014, 13:09

Hi julca,
Can you just explain the number and density ? It seems everytime I move one the other moves as well so I don't understand. I would like to use a very specific number, is that possible ?
Thanks please excuse my simple question. Awesome tool by the way !

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: SiScatter

Post by julca » 19 Mar 2014, 13:44

Of course,
The number and density parameters does the same thing but in two differents ways :
  • - If you adjust the density (= number by xsi unit), then the number parameter are adjusted to reflect exactly the density according to your emitter area.
    A grid emitter (1*1) with a density of 1 = 1 particle
    A grid emitter (2*2) with a density of 1 = 4 particles
    A grid emitter (2*2) with a density of 2 = 8 particles
    etc.
    So if you change your emitter object, you keep your ratio of particles and so, the aspect of your scattering.
  • - If you want a specific number (without considering all filters parameters),
    just edit the number parameter (and the density will be adjust to reflect this number).
Hope that's clear.
If you have any other questions I'm available to answer it.

User avatar
cheeseburger
Posts: 108
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 10:56

Re: SiScatter

Post by cheeseburger » 19 Mar 2014, 14:17

So the true number is just the number parameter and the density useful when wanting to maintain a density despite actual number and emitter ? Wow, very cool !
Thanks

User avatar
cheeseburger
Posts: 108
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 10:56

Re: SiScatter

Post by cheeseburger » 27 Mar 2014, 20:00

Hi julca, one more question ... How can you control the specific number of instances within the various shapes ? E.G. If you have 10 shapes, how can you have say 12 of shape 1, 3 of shape 2, 9 of shape 3 etc ?

Thanks
Cheeseburger

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: SiScatter

Post by julca » 28 Mar 2014, 15:55

Hi, you can use the shape's weight to do that.
Set your number parameter equal to the sum of each shape's weight number.

Like in the screenshot below, you have 10 total particles and the sum of each shape's weight (3+2+5) give you 10.
siScatter_number.jpg
But you need to update manually the number parameter at each shape's weight modification.
I hope that help you.

User avatar
cheeseburger
Posts: 108
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 10:56

Re: SiScatter

Post by cheeseburger » 28 Mar 2014, 16:20

Hi julca, I have tried that but I'm not getting the same results. I have 38 different shapes(people on cards) and when I load them up I get this ... See image.
Am i doing something wrong ?
Thanks
Cheeseburger
Attachments
SIscatter.JPG

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests