Softimage XSI 7.01 Is it still usable

General discussion about 3D DCC and other topics
artistfuture

Softimage XSI 7.01 Is it still usable

Post by artistfuture » 16 Jul 2015, 02:01

Hello everyone. I have question I own Softimage XSI 7.01 and I tried to find a newer version for sale with no luck. I wonder is this version of Softimage to out dated to do professional work. I'm a newbie at Softimage I want to learn more about it sense I own a copy. Thank you for anyone who can help.

Draise

Re: Softimage XSI 7.01 Is it still usable

Post by Draise » 16 Jul 2015, 17:57

I've played with the XSI mod tool 7 and 7.5, and have some old projects done with 7.0, and.. well got it going in Windows 8 and 10 Tech Preview on my Intel machines. I haven't had much luck on my AMD machines though...

I think.. if you are creative, you can still get some cool stuff out. The now EOL but left for free Mach Studio Pro 2 GPU renderer will give you a very fast render GPU engine workflow (with AO and GI realtime) that is compatible with those. I wouldn't bet on other render engines though...

For a particle renderer, mootzoid might know what is compatible with those versions or not. If not, it's integrated Mentalray, though old for todays standards - might actually render quite fast on todays machinery.
Last edited by Draise on 16 Jul 2015, 18:00, edited 1 time in total.

Draise

Post by Draise » 16 Jul 2015, 17:59

Ah, you can technically still buy Softimage 2015 (latest version) at the "low" price of Maya, and you get a free copy of Maya 2016 from Autodesk resellers included. Before April next year...

Helli

Post by Helli » 16 Jul 2015, 18:03

You might run into a lot of instabilities caused by operating system and hardware.

Rez007

Post by Rez007 » 16 Jul 2015, 20:04