Hard Edge with Smooth Mesh?

Forum for users who have migrated or are migrating to Maya
User avatar
Rez007
Posts: 609
Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 15:51
Location: Nevada

Hard Edge with Smooth Mesh?

Post by Rez007 » 21 Apr 2017, 19:29

Hello. I have a real quick question, and it is probably something easy that I am missing, but can anyone please let me know how to make super hard edges (razor thin) while using Smooth Mesh? In Softimage, I would just mark the edges as "hard" and then with/without smoothing it would always stay hard. With Maya, the hard edge seems to work when a mesh is not smoothed, but doesn't take that into account when it is smoothed. When I use the Crease tool or Crease sets, setting the crease to 2.0 (which is fully creased) still leaves a rounded edge when smoothed and not razor sharp.

I am more-or-less looking to find out how to do it similar to Softimage, rather than adding extra geometry/edge loops to make the edge harder. Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1723
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Hard Edge with Smooth Mesh?

Post by Mathaeus » 21 Apr 2017, 23:12

More or less like SI, or, what I'm using, is:
Set Smooth Mesh method to Maya Catmull Clark or OSD Adaptive (OSD = OpenSubdiv). In case of Maya Catmull Clark, turn on "propagate edge hardness".
Select some edges, run MEL like this (or put this into script):

Code: Select all

polyCrease -value 10 -vertexValue 10;
polySoftEdge -a 0;
and SI 'soft edge' could be:

Code: Select all

polyCrease -value 0 -vertexValue 0;
polySoftEdge -a 180;
That is, subd creasing and split normals for shading, they are two different things in Maya. "Hard edge" in Maya means only a shading feature, 'crease' is only a 'geometry' feature, so it's possible to see the 'absolute' crease on subd wireframe, but still with strange smooth shading, and reverse.
Not sure about yours 2 as absolute crease, let's say that Crease tool, by moving MMB to right, allows to go to 10.
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

User avatar
Rez007
Posts: 609
Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 15:51
Location: Nevada

Re: Hard Edge with Smooth Mesh?

Post by Rez007 » 22 Apr 2017, 02:52

Hi Mathaeus, Thanks for the help and posting your script. I haven't used MEL yet, so I will have to look into that. I thought I was just missing something and it was something easy, never knew it would be "clicky" to do something so simple. Kind of surprised that Autodesk hasn't streamlined that a bit more.

Yeah, you can go higher than '2' in the creasing. The MMB and Crease Sets can't be used in conjunction though, and I believe I was reading in the documents that while using the Crease Sets and setting the value to '2' results in a full crease. It would be nice if there was a separate value slider in the Crease Sets for "Normals" to automatically adjust it right there, or do a CTRL + MMB to set normal shading directly in the Creasing Tool.

I appreciate the fast reply and info. Thanks!

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1723
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Hard Edge with Smooth Mesh?

Post by Mathaeus » 22 Apr 2017, 03:16

Rez007 wrote:Hi Mathaeus, Thanks for the help and posting your script. I haven't used MEL yet, so I will have to look into that. I thought I was just missing something and it was something easy, never knew it would be "clicky" to do something so simple. Kind of surprised that Autodesk hasn't streamlined that a bit more.
Commands are on menus, while it is two instead of one: mesh display > harden edge, and mesh tools > crease. MEL just runs both at once.
Creating a script and assigning shortcut is perhaps simplest in 3d world, you just use runtime command editor (it's part of hotkey editor) - or drag and drop selected lines of code to shelf. Do not hesitate to use or create scripts.
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

User avatar
myara
Posts: 358
Joined: 28 Sep 2011, 10:33

Re: Hard Edge with Smooth Mesh?

Post by myara » 26 Oct 2017, 15:07

I don't think you have something like that in Maya.
AFAIK, creases will always give you roundy edges if you subdivide.
M.Yara
Character Modeler | Softimage Generalist (sort of)