It is currently 19 Apr 2014, 03:59

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 115 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 02:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Posts: 619
Location: warsaw
Uploaded v0.93
- you can now create light primitives
- some new preferences

Attachment:
File comment: NEW
quickprimitive_093.zip [375.33 KiB]
Downloaded 437 times

//
Uploaded v0.91
NEW: Preferences: Plane helper size, axis helper size, default subdivision for all primitives, option for creating UVs, option for 2 methods of creating cube/grid prim
NEW: Free cube drawing (uses scale!)
NEW: Draw cube/cone/cylinder in both directions (downwards/upwards to axis)
NEW: Tool scope buttons. Work on grid/selection/everything.
NEW: Autocreate texture projections (you can disable it in preferences)
NEW: Merge button. Merges primitives (or last prim if you shift+click) to selected mesh.
NEW: accurate snapping for "height" objects. So e.g. you can create cylinder between two faces.
FIX: Cube drawing
FIX: repeat last primitive (undo issue, subd. issues)
FIX: Wacom issues
FIX: snapping
FIX: subd. surface raycast bug
FIX: losing hotkeys

Hotkeys:
ENTER - show primitive PPG
(Shift+) J,K,L - change primitive subdivions

Now about merge button. It uses XSI Merge op. So you will loose all animation on selected mesh! I think also there is some bug in SAP because you will get some weird warning about autofixing clusters (doesn't happen in 2012 sp1)
Step by step what happens after you click merge (old mesh = selected object):
1. It runs merge command. New object is created.
2. It transfers all properties from old object to new object.
3. Changes new object name to old object name
4. Reconnects all children of old object to new object
5. Parents new object to old object's parent

//
Hello guys,

Here's new tool for primitive creation, >2012, x64 xsiaddon attached.
Tested on only 2 computers, so please reports bugs (and suggestions)

Quote:
v0.9
interactive primitive drawing. By default it's drawing prim "in front of camera". If you want to draw onto grid, turn on grid snapping and turn on snap (or hold ctrlkey) before drawing.
Supports curve, nurbsmesh, polymesh (full frame) and grid aligning (x/y/z axis as up vector)

ISSUES:
- skew scaled objects will give bad aligning. I wont fix this tho...
TODO:
-merge to selected mesh button
-diffrent drawing mode for all prims (like grid, from left to right corner)
-right now height of objects (cylinder, torus,cone...) is obtained by holding RMB after LMB drawing.
-?




Attachments:
File comment: v093 source
quickPrimitive_0_93_source.7z [202.55 KiB]
Downloaded 159 times
File comment: UPDATE 1. 2012 x64 xsiaddon
pmQuickPrimitive_v_091_2012x64_addon.7z [238.2 KiB]
Downloaded 905 times
File comment: 2012 x64 xsiaddon
pmQuickPrimitive_2012_x64_addon.rar [247.36 KiB]
Downloaded 990 times

_________________
http://vimeo.com/origin/videos


Last edited by origin on 06 Sep 2012, 10:56, edited 4 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 02:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
You are on the roll Piotrek! Really making use of those custom tools SDK.
Wow, nice stuff coming out of your lab.
Thanks!

edit: after actually watching the video all I can say is ...FANTASTIC ! :ymapplause:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 02:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45
Posts: 880
this is just fantastic o.O
Thanks a lot for this tool, really great to have such interaction into softimage, i missed this...
So far no issues, i'll keep using it!

Max


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 02:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Posts: 619
Location: warsaw
Thanks guys.
Forgot to mention, if it doesn't work for you please install this: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=14632

Also, I've implemented my 'patch' for faster component highlighting (way faster than tweak tool).
But I've tested it only on my computer, so I would love to hear if it's also highlighting components (especially polys) faster on your machines.

_________________
http://vimeo.com/origin/videos


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 02:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
It seems highlighting is working faster than the tweak tool's one,
your gizmo detects polygons faster than Tweak Tool, and doesn't skip on them either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 03:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
Suggestion:

Maybe implement height (RMB) in Grid creation operation, so that user can draw custom nonuniform box shape.Or figure out nonuniform creation/drawing.
I figured J,K,L buttons DO change subdivisions, MMB button is "repeat last". Maybe you should put these shortcuts in description.
Also it could be useful if subdivision could be changed while holding J,K,L and dragging, so it doesn't just subdivide one way/ increasing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 08:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Posts: 619
Location: warsaw
Box primitive (length/width/height) is on my list. Problem is, there is no custom primitive class in sdk.There are some workarounds and I will look into it.
As for subdiving down you can hold SHIFT + J,K,L to decrease subdivs. I was thinking also about small on-screen input boxes where you can type subdivision levels.

_________________
http://vimeo.com/origin/videos


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 09:45 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2009, 02:41
Posts: 666
Would be nice to be able to change the size of the yellow plane as well.

_________________
===================
Eric Thivierge
ethivierge@gmail.com
http://www.ethivierge.com
http://www.exocortex.com/products/species/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 11:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
I'd love to see CMIVFX doing a tutorial ,with you, on making such useful interactive tools.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: quickPrimitive
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012, 12:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 13:30
Posts: 106
Wow. Thanks. This will be super useful


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 115 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group