How to make ICE Strand get to it's full length gradually

Discussions about SOFTIMAGEs© Interactive Creative Environment©
Caveman

How to make ICE Strand get to it's full length gradually

Post by Caveman » 03 Feb 2013, 17:31

Hi ICE gurus. I am a newbie to ICE strands and ICE.

The ICE strands' full length shows up all at once which looks pretty bad. I think there is a way to make the strands appear more gently. My limited knowledge of ICE isn't helping me at all. I want to hide the bend of the strands that happens near the particle emmision area. Not sure if I am able to properly express myself.

Please help.
Last edited by Caveman on 04 Feb 2013, 02:55, edited 1 time in total.

Bullit

Re: How to make ICE Strand get to it's full length gradually

Post by Bullit » 03 Feb 2013, 18:56

You have the strand length in Emit Strands isn't it?

Tekano

Post by Tekano » 03 Feb 2013, 22:42

how are you getting on? here is a very simple way to grow strands so you only have to keyframe the attribute strandlength. there are many ways to grow strands, depends on what you want to achieve, the easiest would be to have them generate trails from a moving position - and easy to control particles this way. which ways have you tried so far?
Attachments
Capture_strandgrow.JPG
Gossip is what no one claims to like, but everybody enjoys.

Pancho

Post by Pancho » 03 Feb 2013, 22:55

Just create them in one cloud and then use the strand array to gradually add or subtract array enries to make them grow or shrink. This way you can presimulate strands and cache the results. Them you just add the results to your visible strands.

I'm sure somebody else explained it much better then me before.

Caveman

Post by Caveman » 04 Feb 2013, 07:51

Hi thanks for the response.

I don't want to see the hanging area of the strands. I wish to see a strand reach it's full length gradually, right now a strand reach it's full length as soons as a particle is emitted which causes the hanging thingy :))