Page 2 of 2

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 01 Mar 2015, 16:51
by Angel 07
Next version MaSs 0.7

Download link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/114 ... ackage.zip
References for new ICE Nodes: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/114 ... rences.pdf

As in previous version of the plugin, PyQtForSoftimage is required. All necessary packages are in the archive. Process of the installation is the same. You should change the path to Mitsuba folder in the file MaSsPlugin.py.

Two videos:

1. Create point cloud and render it in Mitsuba



2. By using the plugin OpenVDB we load vdb-data and render it in Mitsuba. Link to this plugin: http://www.si-community.com/community/v ... =27&t=4707



One remark about generation of vol-files during the export. Bug of the render is that if it renders some vol-object, the file becomes locked, and we should close the host application (Softimage, for example) to unlock it. So we can not just rewrite it, we should generate new vol-file each time. And if point cloud contains a lot of points, then the file is large, and the size of the project folder can grow quickly. Therefore, after generating this file, and further customize the rendering, you should switch off the parameter "Should render volume" in the options. Then the render use the old vol-file.

Newcomer (<20 posts) alert: please use the URL tags - HB

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 02 Mar 2015, 04:13
by nDman
Is this compatible with SI2013? I get this errors:

Code: Select all

# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 2, in <module>
#     import sip
# ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.
#  - [line 2 in C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\PyQtForSoftimage\Application\Plugins\pyqt_example.py]
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 1, in <module>
#     from PyQt4.QtCore import Qt
# ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.
#  - [line 1 in C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\PyQtForSoftimage\Application\Plugins\qtevents.py]

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 02 Mar 2015, 04:35
by Angel 07
This is error of PyQtForSoftimage plugin. Check, is you install all necessary items. You should:

1. Copy PyQt folder to \python\Lib\site-packages folder of Softimage installed folder
2. Install PyQtForSoftimage as xsiaddon.

The complete guide about installation in the video in one of the previous post.

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 02 Mar 2015, 07:58
by Angel 07
Also, as written here: https://github.com/caron/PyQtForSoftimage Plugin PyQtForSoftimage works correctly with Python 2.7. Build-in version of Python on Softimage 2013 is 2.6.4. May be this is the reason of the error. But anyway, it is possible to use external Python distributive, but it needs additional tweaks for installation.

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 01 Apr 2015, 16:07
by nDman
Ok, i did second try to install it. PyQt installed perfectly and it works well (On SI-2013). But now there is a problem at export mesh for render!

Code: Select all

# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 1944, in MaSs_Render_OnClicked
#     ActOneFrame(int(frame))
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 1948, in ActOneFrame
#     scenePath = ExportXML(f, oProp)
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 2046, in ExportXML
#     oProp.Parameters("clamping").Value, oProp.Parameters("useColorAttribute").Value, frameNumber, oProp.Parameters("lastTime").Value))
#   File "C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsXML.py", line 234, in GenerateXMLScene
#     root.append(GenerateMeshSegment(mesh, shouldExport, exportPath, exportType))
#   File "C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsXML.py", line 2854, in GenerateMeshSegment
#     MeshShouldExport(mesh, exportPath, exportType)
#   File "C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsXML.py", line 2734, in MeshShouldExport
#     ap.ExportPly(True, mesh, exportPath, mesh.FullName + ".ply")
#   File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\win32com\client\dynamic.py", line 516, in __getattr__
#     raise AttributeError("%s.%s" % (self._username_, attr))
# AttributeError: <unknown>.ExportPly
#  - [line 2045 in C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsPlugin.py]
# ERROR : Property Page Script Logic Error (Python ActiveX Scripting Engine)
# ERROR :    [2043] oProp.Parameters("maxPasses").Value, oProp.Parameters("bidirectional").Value, oProp.Parameters("luminanceSamples").Value, oProp.Parameters("twoStage").Value, oProp.Parameters("pLarge").Value,
# ERROR :    [2044] oProp.Parameters("bidirectionalMutation").Value, oProp.Parameters("lensPerturbation").Value, oProp.Parameters("multiChainPerturbation").Value, oProp.Parameters("causticPerturbation").Value, oProp.Parameters("manifoldPerturbation").Value, oProp.Parameters("lambda").Value,
# ERROR :   >[2045] oProp.Parameters("numChains").Value, oProp.Parameters("maxChains").Value, oProp.Parameters("chainLength").Value, oProp.Parameters("bruteForce").Value, oProp.Parameters("granularityP").Value, oProp.Parameters("shadowMapResolution").Value,
# ERROR :    [2046] oProp.Parameters("clamping").Value, oProp.Parameters("useColorAttribute").Value, frameNumber, oProp.Parameters("lastTime").Value))
# ERROR :    [2047] 	file.close()
# ERROR :    [2048] 
# ERROR : 	Traceback (most recent call last):
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 1944, in MaSs_Render_OnClicked
#     ActOneFrame(int(frame))
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 1948, in ActOneFrame
#     scenePath = ExportXML(f, oProp)
#   File "<Script Block 2>", line 2046, in ExportXML
#     oProp.Parameters("clamping").Value, oProp.Parameters("useColorAttribute").Value, frameNumber, oProp.Parameters("lastTime").Value))
#   File "C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsXML.py", line 234, in GenerateXMLScene
#     root.append(GenerateMeshSegment(mesh, shouldExport, exportPath, exportType))
#   File "C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsXML.py", line 2854, in GenerateMeshSegment
#     MeshShouldExport(mesh, exportPath, exportType)
#   File "C:\Users\Saeed\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\MaSs\Application\Plugins\MaSsXML.py", line 2734, in MeshShouldExport
#     ap.ExportPly(True, mesh, exportPath, mesh.FullName + ".ply")
#   File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\win32com\client\dynamic.py", line 516, in __getattr__
#     raise AttributeError("%s.%s" % (self._username_, attr))
# AttributeError: <unknown>.ExportPly
# 

It seems export dll file compiled for higher version.
si.png
si.png (7.93 KiB) Viewed 2725 times

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 04 Apr 2015, 15:38
by Angel 07
This version should work: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/114 ... 2.xsiaddon

There are some errors and XSI crushes (because of some differences in API), when I tried to use the plugin in SI 2013. But this version works correctly.

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 05 Apr 2015, 15:52
by nDman
Angel 07 wrote:This version should work: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/114 ... 2.xsiaddon

There are some errors and XSI crushes (because of some differences in API), when I tried to use the plugin in SI 2013. But this version works correctly.
Cool, thanks for this. It works partially. It exports correctly and i can open and render the scene file by Mitsuba GUI program.
But inside SI it won't render and it stays in Rendering... state.

Sorry, i just reporting problems. If it's time consuming to make it work on SI-2013, forget about it ;) I will use Mitsuba GUI to render :)
s1.png

Re: Another Softimage to Mitsuba exporter

Posted: 09 Apr 2015, 16:24
by Angel 07
I did some tests, and it seems that the problem in external Python. I have Python 2.7 in my system, and when I tried to use it in SI2013 some errors appear during the export process. But with built-in SI2013 Python export works perfect. When I tried to use Python from SI2015 as external Python for SI2013 all works correct. So, you can try to use the Python distributive from this link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/114 ... SI2015.zip

This is not default Python folder from SI2015, but additionally it contains only PyQt4 and Gear modules.