Animation and rig tool

Discussions about animating in SOFTIMAGE©
Talik

Animation and rig tool

Post by Talik » 14 Apr 2022, 16:13

Hello. I am a modeler and concept designer. I use XSI as a tool for modeling. Now I need a tool as good in animation as XSI is good in modeling. All the models I make will not be used inside XSI. I export them in standalone render engines like Keyshot or Maya when I need to prepare a model for a customer.

What I need is:
1. Set up a rig for my models and export in in Maya or another software.
2. Make animations for my models and export them to another software like Maya.
Would you suggest to try XSI or use another software like Maya for this?

Another thing. I am not very good in animation right now and I need to learn it. Would you recomend to try XSI or Maya for this?

opoppopopp

Re: Animation and rig tool

Post by opoppopopp » 14 Apr 2022, 18:09

Let me say it like this:
The reason you still using XSI, should be its Animation part. :)

Compare to modelling, Animation tools (especially the flexibility by software design, not by "tools") is EVEN better.

After you knowing(understand) this picture, you will know, I am not exaggerate here :))
scrub.png
scrub.png (7 KiB) Viewed 4033 times

Talik

Post by Talik » 14 Apr 2022, 20:28

Glad to hear that. I have heared a lot about XSI and it's animation tools. I realy would like to include animation and rigging in XSI in my pipeline.

When in 2014 I had beed learning XSI even then a lot of tutorials were deleted from web or very old. Learning modeling was hard but I did that. What is the best way to learn these tools tutorials and more about animation?

What is missing or outdated in XSI about animation? Like blendshapes in Maya and Zbrush or missing retopology in modeling

I don't know what is scrubbing

opoppopopp

Post by opoppopopp » 14 Apr 2022, 20:54

The document and included sample scenes is a good start point, post here if you face any specific problem.